Fatoosh

fatoosh_dsc7303dpi72

Fatoosh! Such a funny word. I remember the first time I heard it. My husband’s father is Lebanese and there was always some kind of “hazing” that took place when you joined the family or dated someone in the family. It was like “let’s take them to the Beruit and order Kibbeh Nayyeh! And not tell them it’s ground up raw lamb! Ha ha ha!” Well, I’m pretty much willing to try anything so I didn’t mind trying it. I LOVED it. And I loved the fatoosh and everything else, except the grape leaves??!!??!! I know, so many of you love grape leaves. I just cannot get into them. I will continue to try though. Just like olives. I just can’t get into olives. But, I always try them, thinking something will change. But, no. Not yet.

Back to fatoosh! OMG – it is amazing. I absolutely love it. I never really learned how to make it at home until recently. I had a few weak attempts here and there, which were ok. But, now it seems really simple. And that is what Aunt Grace said when she made it for my wedding….it’s so easy to make! I’m sure she had a few years of practice under her belt! And I have really gotten in just the way I like it! Good and zesty! Heavy on the sumac, the purple spice that gives it lovely color and great flavor.

Now for the recipe so you can get to making some too!

FATOOSH – Becca’s Way

1 head of romaine lettuce, diced, rinsed and well drained (I use a salad spinner to get all the water off, I hate soggy lettuce!)

4 or 5 roma tomatoes or cherry tomatoes, diced

1 small sweet onion, diced

1 cucumber, peel some skin off to create a lovely striped cuke, then dice.

Now, toss all that goodness into the bowl, and mix it up a bit.

Next, get a mason jar or other container with a lid that you can shake up your dressing in.

Add about 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/8 cup lemon juice, 1/8 cup lime juice, 4 tablespoons sumac, 3 tablespoons Zaatar, a pinch of pink Himalayan  salt and a pinch of sugar. Shake up and taste. You can add and subtract ingredients to you liking, depending on the amount of zest you want. Make sure it has a good amount of tang to it, because when you distribute it all over your salad it will lose some of its punch.

Now crush up some regular old store bough pita chips, I like Stacy’s GMO free chips. Now toss those into the salad. Then pour the dressing over and toss and eat it all up in one sitting! It’s really not the best leftover, just like any salad. So, find some salad lovers and enjoy this tasty treat!

Salad serves about 4 or 1, if its just me at home, seriously I’ll eat it all. Takes about 10 minutes or less to make. I never really know because anything I make usually has about 1,005 interruptions, soooo bottom line, it’s pretty quick.

You can also find the Mediterranean, Middle eastern, Lebanese spices at a specialty grocery store. Just google on in your area. It will last you awhile. Just be sure to seal it well and keep it in a nice cool dry place! I’ve been using my stash for awhile with no problems.

Thanks for stopping by, hope you like the FATOOSH!

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Leave a Reply

